Tourist Zones of India

Multifaceted and multilingual in nature, India offers a huge array of tourist places to be explored. The shades of the nation compose of a number of communities, religions, and races. As a result, the tourist attractions in India are varied and numerous in nature. A study of the various tourist zones of India will be quite entertaining, allowing you to take a peek into the characteristic features of each and every zone of the country while you are on your tour to India. A discussion of the various tourist zones will give a clearer picture.

North Zone

The vast expanses of the North Indian territory present one of the world’s most widespread and fertile lands, comprising the alluvial soil deposited in the form of fine silt by the rivers. Lying towards the south of the Himalayas, the northern plains comprise the Indus basin, the Ganga-Brahmaputra basin. Uttar Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Uttaranchal, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh are the states that form the north zone. Some of the striking tourist destinations of India in the north zone are the Taj Mahal, Hawa Mahal, Jama Masjid, Dal Lake, Jaisalmer Fort, Agra Fort, Qutub Minar and Corbett National Park.

East Zone

The east zone of India is composed of states like Orissa, West Bengal, Bihar, Jharkhand, Assam, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Tripura, Manipur, Mizoram and Meghalaya. The natural beauty ranges from the snow capped mountains of Arunachal Pradesh to Assam’s Brahmaputra and the Barak river valleys; from the hilly terrain of Meghalaya, full of dense forests to the mountainous state of Nagaland; from the fertile plateaus of Orissa to the loamy plains of West Bengal. The various tourist attractions in this region broadly include Konark temples, Sundarbans, Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, etc.

West Zone

Comprising the states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Daman & Diu, and Goa, the western region is one of the most traveled tourist zones of India. Located along the blue waters of the Arabian Sea, all of these states offer primarily coastal beauties of beaches and sea shores. Gujarat, one of the most important states, houses some of the most impressive architectural works of art, like the Somnath Temple and the Dwarkadhish Temple. Gir Wildlife Sanctuary is another favorite site for the tourists. Ajanta and Ellora Caves and Mahabaleshwar in Maharashtra are some of the striking tourist destinations in India. Goa, another chosen tourist spot in the western area, offers magnificent beaches of Dona Paula and Calangute.

South Zone

One of the major tourist zones of India, the South zone includes the states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicober islands. A region consisting of the Great Plateau of Peninsular India, which in turn, is divided into two parts, - the Malwa Plateau and the Deccan Plateau. The backwaters of Kerala, the wildlife sanctuaries of the Nilgiris, and exotic beaches of Kerala, Tamil Nadu, Pondicherry, Andaman & Nicobar, and Lakshadweep are some of the prime tourist attractions here. Among the architectural specimens, the Meenakshi Temple, Khajuraho Temples, the Tirupati Temple hold great tourism significance.